photo: Armin Krüger

SWR2 Treffpunkt Klassik extra

"Leonard Küßner is one of the most successful young film music composers in Germany. He has been awarded the German Business Film Prize, among others, his film music was screened at the Cannes Film Festival in 2018, and as his most recent work Leonard Küßner composed the film music for the SWR documentary about the dancer Friedemann Vogel.

In "SWR2 Treffpunkt Klassik extra", he talks about his life as a composer of film music, about the pitfalls and highlights of his profession, and about the challenges of working with directors.

His music selection ranges from Felix Mendelssohn and Giacomo Puccini to Carl Orff and Björk, and - of course - you can also listen to his own music.



  • Carl Orff
    "O Fortuna" from "Carmina Burana"
    London Philharmonic Orchestra
    Management: Hans Graf
  • Peter Tchaikovsky
    2nd movement from Violin Concerto D major op. 35
    Vilde Frang (violin)
    Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra
    Direction: Eivind Gullberg Jensen
  • Thomas Hanreich
    Tied down
    Thomas Hanreich (instruments)
  • Sergei Prokofiev
    "Montagues and Capulets" from the ballet "Romeo and Juliet".
    Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
    Conductor: Claudio Abbado
  • Leonard Küßner
    John Cranko's Heritage
    Leonard Küßner
  • Leonard Küßner
    Dancing to Far North
    Leonard Küßner
  • Edward Elgar
    1st movement from String Serenade in E minor
    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    Direction: Sir Colin Davis
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
    3rd movement from Symphony No. 5 in D major op. 107 "Reformation
    London Symphony Orchestra
    Conductor: Claudio Abbado

  • John Powell
    Dragon training
    Metro Voices
    Management: Perry Montague-Mason
  • Giacomo Puccini
    "Turandot", Aria of Kalaf (Act 1)
    Andrea Bocelli (Tenor)
    Orquestra de la Comunitat Valenciana
    Conductor: Zubin Mehta
  • Leonard Küßner
    Under a thousand white stones
    Marie Seidler (mezzo-soprano)
    Štátny komorný orchestra Žilina
  • Leonard Küßner
    Marie Seidler (mezzo-soprano)
    Samantha Gaul (Soprano)
    Štátny komorný orchestra Žilina
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
    from: "What have you done to me", recitative and aria of the widow
    Petteri Salomaa (bass)
    Soile Isokoski (Soprano)
    Ghent Collegium Vocale
    Orchestre des Champs Elysées
    Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe
  • Francisco "Compay Segundo" Repilado
    Chan Chan
    Buena Vista Social Club