photo: Armin Krüger

SWR2 Treffpunkt Klassik extra

"Leonard Küßner is one of the most successful young film music composers in Germany. He has been awarded the German Business Film Prize, among others, his film music was screened at the Cannes Film Festival in 2018, and as his most recent work Leonard Küßner composed the film music for the SWR documentary about the dancer Friedemann Vogel.

In "SWR2 Treffpunkt Klassik extra", he talks about his life as a composer of film music, about the pitfalls and highlights of his profession, and about the challenges of working with directors.

His music selection ranges from Felix Mendelssohn and Giacomo Puccini to Carl Orff and Björk, and - of course - you can also listen to his own music.



  • Carl Orff
    „O Fortuna“ aus „Carmina Burana“
    London Philharmonic Orchestra
    Leitung: Hans Graf
  • Peter Tschaikowsky
    2. Satz aus Violinkonzert D-Dur op. 35
    Vilde Frang (Violine)
    Sinfonieorchester des Dänischen Rundfunks
    Leitung: Eivind Gullberg Jensen
  • Thomas Hanreich
    Tied down
    Thomas Hanreich (instruments)
  • Sergej Prokofjew
    „Montagues und Capulets“ aus dem Ballett „Romeo und Julia“
    Berliner Philharmoniker
    Leitung: Claudio Abbado
  • Leonard Küßner
    John Cranko’s Heritage
    Leonard Küßner
  • Leonard Küßner
    Dancing to Far North
    Leonard Küßner
  • Edward Elgar
    1. Satz aus Streicherserenade e-Moll
    BBC Symphony Orchestra
    Leitung: Sir Colin Davis
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
    3. Satz aus Sinfonie Nr. 5 D-Dur op. 107 „Reformation“
    London Symphony Orchestra
    Leitung: Claudio Abbado

  • John Powell
    Dragon training
    Metro Voices
    Leitung: Perry Montague-Mason
  • Giacomo Puccini
    „Turandot“, Arie des Kalaf (1. Akt)
    Andrea Bocelli (Tenor)
    Orquestra de la Comunitat Valenciana
    Leitung: Zubin Mehta
  • Leonard Küßner
    Unter tausend weißen Steinen
    Marie Seidler (Mezzosopran)
    Štátny komorný orchester Žilina
  • Leonard Küßner
    Marie Seidler (Mezzosopran)
    Samantha Gaul (Sopran)
    Štátny komorný orchester Žilina
  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
    aus: „Was hast du an mir getan“, Rezitativ und Arie der Witwe
    Petteri Salomaa (Bass)
    Soile Isokoski (Sopran)
    Gent Collegium Vocale
    Orchestre des Champs Elysées
    Leitung: Philippe Herreweghe
  • Francisco „Compay Segundo“ Repilado
    Chan Chan
    Buena Vista Social Club