Leonard Küßner Portrait
photo: Armin Krüger

Leonard Küßner

is a German composer and orchestrator for film, theater and concert hall.

After completing his basic education on percussion and piano, and after many years in various orchestras and ensembles, he studied composition with a focus on film score at the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Ludwigsburg.

This was followed by composition commissions for film score, interdisciplinary performance formats and the world's first Dolby Atmos radio play "Das Duett". The documentary "Um uns die Welt" (director: Hanna Fischer), for which Küßner composed the film music, won the "German Business Film Award" in 2017.

In 2018 Leonard Küßner made his Cannes debut at the 71. International Festival de Cannes and was also nominated for the "German Film Music Award".

In the same year his incidental music for E.T.A. Hoffmann's "Der Goldne Topf", adapted and staged by Anna Frick, premiered at the Theater Freiburg and was performed over two seasons.

This was followed by the work as orchestrator and arranger for the animated film "Der kleine Drache Kokosnuss - Auf in den Dschungel!" (2018, director: Anthony Power), which continued in 2019 for the film "Drachenreiter" (2020, director: Tomer Eshed), the animated film based on the novel by Cornelia Funke.

For the feature film "Traumfabrik" (2019, director: Martin Schreier) Küßner worked in a team with Philipp Noll and Peter Gromer from the beginning of 2019.

For the television documentary (SWR, 3sat) Friedemann Vogel - Verkörperung des Tanzes (2020, director: Katja Trautwein) Küßner composed the film music, which was also released as a soundtrack album .

This was followed in 2020 by another collaboration with Philipp Noll for the Otto Waalkes movie "Catweazle", which was released in 2021.

He wrote incidental music for Victor Klemperer's diaries (from 1934 - 1945) as well as the four-movement poem Einsamkeit after Paul Celan for orchestra and two voices, which was recorded on CD under his direction.

In 2020/2021 Küßner, together with Hannes Bieber, composed and produced the film music for the multiple award-winning documentary "Dear Future Children", which is shortlisted for the 2022 Academy Awards (Oscars) and will be released in Germany, Great Britain, Austria and Canada from October 14, 2021.

This was followed by recordings of film music and symphonic works by the Deutsches Filmorchester Babelsberg, the Slovak Sinfonietta Orchestra and recordings with tenor Daniel Kluge (Hamburg State Opera), René Pape (Berlin State Opera) as well as collaborations with the sopranos Samantha Gaul, Katharina Ruckgaber (Freiburg Theater) and the mezzo-soprano Marie Seidler.

On November 12, 2021, the CD "Die Fremde" with Küßner's composition "Andante for alto saxophone and piano" (alto saxophone: Hannah Koob, piano: Martien Maas) will be released worldwide by the Dutch label 7 Mountain Records.

Leonard Küßner is also a guest lecturer at the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg on the topics "Orchestral programming" and "Orchestral production".

Leonard Küßner Portrait
Foto: Armin Krüger

Leonard Küßner

ist ein deutscher Komponist und Orchestrator für Film, Theater und Konzertsaal.

Nach seiner Grundausbildung am Schlagwerk und Klavier sowie nach langjähriger Tätigkeit in verschiedenen Orchestern und Ensembles studierte er Komposition mit Schwerpunkt Filmmusik an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Ludwigsburg.

Es folgten Kompositionsaufträge für Filmmusiken, interdisziplinäre Performanceformate und das weltweit erste Dolby-Atmos-Hörspiel „Das Duett“. Der Dokumentarfilm „Um uns die Welt“ (Regie: Hanna Fischer), für den Küßner die Filmmusik komponierte, gewann 2017 den Deutschen Wirtschaftsfilmpreis.

2018 feierte Küßner internationale Premiere auf den 71. Filmfestspielen in Cannes und wurde zudem für den „Deutschen Filmmusikpreis“ nominiert.

Im selben Jahr wurde seine Bühnenmusik zu E.T.A. Hoffmanns „Der Goldne Topf“, in der Adaption und Inszenierung von Anna Frick, am Theater Freiburg uraufgeführt, welche über zwei Spielzeiten dargeboten wurde.

Weiter folgte die Arbeit als Orchestrator und Arrangeur für den Animationsfilm „Der kleine Drache Kokosnuss – Auf in den Dschungel!“ (2018, Regie: Anthony Power), welche sich im Jahr 2019 für den Film „Drachenreiter“ (2020, Regie: Tomer Eshed), der Animationsverfilmung nach der Romanvorlage von Cornelia Funke, fortsetzte.

Für den Kinofilm „Traumfabrik“ (2019, Regie: Martin Schreier) arbeitete Küßner ab Anfang 2019 im Team mit Philipp Noll und Peter Gromer zusammen.

Zur Fernsehdokumentation (SWR, 3sat) Friedemann Vogel – Verkörperung des Tanzes (2020, Regie: Katja Trautwein) komponierte Küßner die Filmmusik, welche auch als Soundtrack-Album veröffentlicht wurde.

Im Jahr 2020 folgte die erneute Zusammenarbeit mit Philipp Noll für den Otto-Kinofilm „Catweazle“, der im Jahr 2021 in die Kinos kam.

Er schrieb Bühnenmusik zu Victor Klemperers Tagebüchern aus der Zeit von 1934 – 1945 sowie die viersätzige Gedichtvertonung Einsamkeit nach Paul Celan für Orchester und zwei Gesangstimmen, die unter seiner Leitung auf CD eingespielt wurde.

Im Jahr 2020/2021 komponierte und produzierte Küßner, gemeinsam mit Hannes Bieber, die Filmmusik zum mehrfach preisgekrönten Dokumentarfilm „Dear Future Children“, welcher in der Vorauswahl für die Oscars 2022 steht und ab 14.10.2021 in Deutschland, Großbritannien, Österreich und Kanada in die Kinos kommt.

Es folgten zudem Einspielungen von Filmmusik und sinfonischen Werken durch das Deutsche Filmorchester Babelsberg, dem Slovak Sinfonietta Orchestra sowie Aufnahmen mit Tenor Daniel Kluge (Staatsoper Hamburg), René Pape (Staatsoper Berlin) sowie die Zusammenarbeit mit den Sopranistinnen Samantha Gaul, Katharina Ruckgaber (Theater Freiburg) und der Mezzosopranistin Marie Seidler.

Am 12. November 2021 wird die CD „Die Fremde“ mit Küßners Komposition „Andante für Alt-Saxophon und Klavier“ (Alt-Saxophon: Hannah Koob, Piano: Martien Maas) beim niederländischen Label 7 Mountain Records weltweit veröffentlicht.

Leonard Küßner ist auch als Gastdozent an der Popakademie Baden-Württemberg zu den Themen „Orchestral programming“ und „Orchestral production“ tätig.